ARTIST STATEMENT

My artist statement updated as I have progressed and developed throughout the year.

My practice explores the reconstruction of familiar every day and found materials by changing their meaning and transitioning them into something new through experimentation. I am interested in making the everyday not so ordinary and exploring how common materials are usually perceived.

Found and recycled materials are a large aspect of my work. I collect and source a range of different materials such cast offs, old and decayed objects, fabrics and strings, often from charity shops, things I find on journeys or that people have given me. I am interested in the aesthetic and historical qualities that they bring. I have continued to investigate deterioration of forgotten materials and objects and incorporated my experiments with rust and decay on fabrics into my drawings.

In my practice I have been inspired by my personal experiences and memories, which have lead me to explore these aspects of my life through the experimentation of materials, drawings and sculpture. I have been influenced to explore my past experiences that have left physical scars which can be considered imperfections. This has seen my work develop into a representation of myself.

My drawings explore the delicacy of the human body, looking under the skin and stripping down to skeleton form. My initial starting point for this series of work was to reflect on past experiences, specifically an accident I had a few years ago were I fractured my left arm (my dominant arm) in two places, resulting in having an operation to insert two metal plates.

I am interested in moment in which you lose control, my drawings investigate the act giving up and regaining control through set rules, such as blind, timed and continuous line drawings. I have been exploring tactile materials to reflect the delicacy of the body, specifically the bones, whilst they are strong and build us and can also be weak and break us.

An artist that has inspired my process of working is Judith Scott who is an American fibre and textile sculptor artist. Scott was born with downs syndrome and profound deafness which isolated her throughout her life. Scott was placed in Creative Growth, the first centre in the world dedicated to supporting artists with disabilities.

Her work reflects little cultural input being the expression of her creative mind and working on instinct. Scott’s work is very tactile and organic which I can relate to in my own practice. She challenges the idea of art by not having any formal education or qualifications. Scott creates work based on her curiosity and her natural instinct to collect, she gathers materials and turns them into sculptures without planning. Scott collected jewellery, objects and anything she could find to conceal in one of her pieces. I find the intricate connections made between each material and the way they are wrapped and combined together really interesting. Scott’s work has greatly inspired my way of working through actively collecting materials.
British sculptor artist Christine Borland has also had an influence on my work, specifically by her drawings, which are a starting point for her sculptural work. I am interested in the relationship Borland creates between the human body and nature.

Borland’s work explores variety of disciplines, she draws on human genetics and science and creates ceramic sculptures. Borland practiced medical stitches on acritical limbs used by medical students. Her drawings are delicate and combine limbs and trees, exploring ways of mutation.

Borland’s drawings show the body morph in something new through the influence of nature. I feel her work has influenced my thinking and process of making by encouraging my practice to develop and explore the process of repairing the body through the use of natural and recycled materials.

My practice has primarily focused my arm, which I now feel is to narrow a subject and for future developments I plan to investigate the body as a whole and wider my perspective by exploring the skeleton figure and show imperfections and scars in contrast to the whole body. I plan to develop my drawings into sculptures, I would like to work with natural materials and objects such as sticks and wood to recreate the body in a larger scale.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

