I visited the Platform exhibition at the Millennium Gallery today, below are the pieces which most stood out to me.

(image on RIGHT) I liked natural and environmental aesthetic this piece has. I was interested in the connection between the image and the wooden board, I thought it linked very well.

 

Rachel Whittington (Image Below)

As someone who takes trains regularly and has had many ticket collections, this stack on train tickets grabbed my attention, I liked the simplicity of it, appropriating an everyday and ordinary object into a gallery space, taken out of context to be viewed, usually a throwaway item, the tickets have been stacked and contained and protected.

 

Em Smith (Image Below)

I liked the playful composition of these pieces and also that selected areas have been used, rather then the entire space.

Leave a comment